Bob-Luitweiler_edited.png
WHO WE ARE

 

INSPIRED BY THOUGHTS OF PEACE
 

Peace, understanding, tolerance, social justice: these are values ​​to which Servas would like to contribute by promoting direct contact and exchange between people from different countries and cultures.

 

Servas was founded in 1949 under the impression of the Second World War and its aftermath by students around Bob Luitweiler in Denmark as the "Open Door System of Work, Study and Travel" who called themselves "Peacebuilders" and soon spread across all continents you give her the name SERVAS, which means "you serve" in Esperanto and is supposed to express the idea of ​​serving a worldwide international understanding.

 

DSC05940.jpg
SERVAS INTERNATIONAL & SERVAS SWITZERLAND

 

Servas International is the international, non-governmental federation of all national Servas groups. It has been the internationally recognized umbrella organization since 1972 and, as a non-governmental organization, has advisory status in the Economic and Social Council of the UN.

 

Servas already existed in Switzerland in the 1950s. However, Servas was not properly anchored until the 1970s: Thanks to the active work of the then National Secretary Denise Waech, the number of hosts rose from 12 to 60 within a short period of time. Since then, Servas Switzerland has slowly but steadily grown to over 200 host families. For a few years now, the number has been between 220 and 240.

 

Servas Switzerland is a member of Servas International and has been an independent association with corresponding statutes since March 24, 2007. The organization of Servas Switzerland lies with the board: all volunteers who are also registered hosts.

SERVAS AND THE UN
 
TOGETHER FOR PEACE
 

Servas has had observer status at the UN since 1973. In New York, Vienna and Geneva there is a team of Servas members who follow the negotiations in different commissions.

 

The Human Rights Council meets in Geneva. In this body, non-governmental organizations recognized by the ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council) can also express themselves actively with written and oral statements on items on the agenda.

 

The Geneva Servas team currently consists of 6 people. René Steimer represents our organization from Switzerland.

Below are two reports to illustrate this work.

WER WIR SIND​

VON FRIEDENSGEDANKEN INSPIRIERT

Frieden, Verständigung, Toleranz, soziale Gerechtigkeit: das sind Werte, zu denen Servas  beitragen möchte, indem es den direkten Kontakt und Austausch zwischen Menschen verschiedener Länder und Kulturen fördert. 

 

Servas wurde 1949 unter dem Eindruck des Zweiten Weltkriegs und dessen Folgen von Studenten um Bob Luitweiler in Dänemark als „Open Door System of Work, Study and Travel“ gegründet, die sich „Peacebuilders" nannten und verbreitete sich bald über alle Erdteile. Erst später gab man ihr den Namen SERVAS, was auf Esperanto "du dienst" bedeutet und den Gedanken des Dienstes an einer weltweiten Völkerverständigung zum Ausdruck bringen soll.

DSC05940.jpg
SERVAS INTERNATIONAL & SERVAS SCHWEIZ

Servas International ist die internationale, regierungsunabhängige Föderation aller nationaler Servas-Gruppen. Seit 1972 ist sie der international anerkannte Dachverband und hat als Nichtregierungsorganisation beratenden Status im Wirtschafts- und Sozialrat der UNO.

In der Schweiz gab es Servas bereits in den 50er-Jahren. Richtig verankert wurde SERVAS aber erst in den 70-er Jahren: Dank der aktiven Arbeit der damaligen Nationalen Sekretärin Denise Waech stieg die Anzahl der Gastgeber innert Kürze von 12 auf 60. Seither ist Servas Schweiz langsam aber kontinuierlich auf über 200 Gastgeberfamilien gewachsen. Seit einigen Jahren bewegt sich die Zahl jeweils zwischen 220 und 240.

​​

Servas Schweiz ist Mitglied von Servas International und seit 24.03.2007 ein eigenständiger Verein mit entsprechenden Statuten. Die Organisation von Servas Schweiz liegt beim Vorstand: alles ehrenamtliche MitarbeiterInnen, die auch eingetragene GastgeberInnen sind.

SERVAS UND DIE UNO​
GEMEINSAM FÜR MEHR FRIEDEN​

Seit 1973 hat Servas einen Beobachterstatus an der UNO. In New York, Wien und Genf gibt es je ein Team von Servas-Mitgliedern, die die Verhandlungen in verschiedenen Kommissionen verfolgen.

In Genf tagt der Menschenrechtsrat. In diesem Gremium können sich auch Nichtregierungs-organisationen, welche vom ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council) anerkannt sind, aktiv mit schriftlichen und mündlichen Stellungnahmen zu Traktanden in der Tagesordnung äussern.

Das Genfer Servas-Team besteht zur Zeit aus 6 Personen. Aus der Schweiz vertritt René Steimer unsere Organisation.

Nachfolgend zwei Berichte zur Illustration dieser Arbeit.

  • iconmonstr-facebook-4-240-3
  • iconmonstr-instagram-4-240-2
  • iconmonstr-twitter-45-240
  • iconmonstr-email-10-240-2

©2019 by Servas Switzerland  | www.servas.ch